Synonym Dictionary

abril 18, 2010 at 10:38 pm 11 comentarios

When I need to look for a meaning of any word I usually use Wordreference as it offers many meanings depending or the context this word is used. Moreover, there are several sentences and expressions taken as an example in which this word is used, that is the reason that made me choose this web page as my main dictionary when I am working on computer. Nevertheless, I do not use to find synonyms on Wordreference, but only the definition of the word so I had to look for other web pages on the Internet.

After having taken a look on some web pages, I have selected Yourdictionary in order to know which dictionary I can choose as a synonym dictionary. Luckily,  by clicking on one of the top page’s buttons called Other Dictionaries, I have found a page which offers many links of online dictionaries and I have selected that one : Synonym Dictionary

That online free dictionary is a great resource for English synonyms, antonyms and definitions.  To begin with, type in a word and the synonym finder will come up with a list of synonyms. Then, the antonym tool can be used to find antonyms and check out the definitions feature to read the definition. I will start with the word “pretty” taken as an example in order to take a look at the synonyms:

As we can see, the finder give us some alternatives we can use instead of “pretty” depending on the sense of the word. Moreover, there is the choice of browsing the antonym and the definition of the same word:

Finally, I will show the option of browsing the definition of the word searched:

Finally, I would like to point out that this web page also contains some sponsored links that can be useful.

SOURCES

Dictionary and Thesaurus Yourdictionary. Retrieved: 13:00, July 21, 2010 from www.yourdictionary.com

Synonyms Thesaurus with Antonyms and Definitions. Retrieved: 13:00, July 21, 2010 from www.synonyms.com

Entry filed under: English Studies, General. Tags: , , .

Terminología Machine Translator

11 comentarios Add your own

  • 1. Joy  |  septiembre 17, 2012 a las 8:05 am

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so
    now i’m following you. Look forward to looking at your web page yet again.

    Responder
  • 2. Shevalini Amin  |  enero 30, 2013 a las 1:48 pm

    Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start
    my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    Responder
  • 3. data integrity  |  febrero 4, 2013 a las 1:50 pm

    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything.
    Nevertheless just imagine if you added some great
    graphics or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could definitely be one of the greatest in
    its niche. Superb blog!

    Responder
  • 4. free date women  |  febrero 5, 2013 a las 7:48 am

    After I initially commented I appear to have clicked the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now
    every time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Kudos!

    Responder
  • 5. Forrest  |  febrero 8, 2013 a las 4:39 am

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it,
    you happen to be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back later in
    life. I want to encourage you to definitely continue
    your great job, have a nice morning!

    Responder
  • 6. women date free  |  febrero 21, 2013 a las 5:18 am

    I was recommended this website by my cousin.
    I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know
    such detailed about my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks!

    Responder
  • 7. Finding Women Online  |  febrero 25, 2013 a las 12:38 pm

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .

    . Anyhow, very good site!

    Responder
  • 8. nummerupplysningen.se  |  marzo 4, 2013 a las 11:07 pm

    Howdy fantastic blog! Does running a blog similar to this
    require a massive amount work? I have no understanding of programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon.

    Anyhow, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog
    owners please share. I know this is off topic however I simply needed to ask.
    Thanks a lot!

    Responder
  • 9. Http://Atozrelationships.com/  |  abril 1, 2013 a las 3:54 pm

    It is truly a nice and useful piece of information. I’m happy that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Responder
  • 10. Teeth Whitening  |  abril 20, 2013 a las 1:10 am

    Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article. I like to write
    a little comment to support you.

    Responder
  • 11. lady gaga  |  junio 9, 2013 a las 10:52 am

    Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Thanks a lot

    Responder

Responder

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Páginas

abril 2010
L M X J V S D
« Dic   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

RSS CiteULike: silviadelpozo’s library

bookmarks

Entradas recientes

Categorías

Twitter


